The play-date


I have to say I am not the biggest fan of the play-date.  After all, they don’t call it a “date” for nothing.

Actually, if you think about it, play-dates are a lot like first dates.  There’s a lot of anticipation and anxiety about how the whole date thing is going to play out.  Will they like each other? will they find things in common and hit it off from the get go?  Will the other person be bringing a lot of personal (and physical) baggage?  Will the date last too long/too short?  Will there be disappointment?  Will it all be too much and will ties need to be cut at the end of the date for good?

Me, I don’t like to have lots of unanswered questions in life so before all play-dates I like to get a bit of perspective on the kid that is coming over. I like to do a bit of due diligence on the mom and try to get a feel for what we are getting ourselves into? Just like a corporate acquisition at the outset I put out some fairly stock standard RFIs (Requests for Information):

1. Is your kid displaying any signs of illness – eg.  ear infection, horse flu, swine flu or just your run of the mill daycare/playschool snotty, runny nose and general whiny disposition to infect my baby, my toddler and all the toys they touch

2.  Will you be intending to work as hard as me or will you be taking it easy and pretending this is a little holiday while I prepare fresh snacks for everyone and clean up all the toys and mess when you’re done drinking tea and watching?

3. Is the date a long or short-term thing

The list goes on but Lance wants me to get going so I will update this later on.  One last thing, Aiden and Jon Jon have been battling flu from our last play-date that ended in bedlam and disaster! So here’s a message for our friends out there, don’t call us, we’ll call you xx

Leave a Reply

